Skip to content
ORWELL INDEX
Active Updated

Cameron County Sheriff and Cameron County Park Rangers | License plate readers

Cameron County's plate readers are bought with border grant money, drug forfeiture money and federal drug task force money, and one pair of them reads every car that drives onto a public beach. No county record says how many there are or how long a read is kept.

At a glance

Who operates them
The Cameron County Sheriff's Office and the county's Park Ranger Division. The county also buys readers for the South Texas High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area, a federal task force whose equipment goes to other agencies [4] [7] [10] [1] [2]
How many
Not stated in any county record. The notices we read cover seven mobile systems, five leased quick deploy cameras, two fixed cameras at a beach toll booth and ten Flock Safety readers, plus an unstated number under the 2021 Flock contract and unstated numbers in three task force purchases [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10]
What the county has posted spending
$392,396.00 for task force readers in 2020, $28,810.00 for readers for another county's sheriff in 2021, $128,514.50 for regional task force readers in 2021, $113,813.40 and $42,439.97 and $29,999.01 for mobile systems in 2023 and 2024, $128,300.00 to lease five cameras for five years in 2023, and a $12,500.00 annual renewal to Flock Safety in 2023 [1] [2] [3] [5] [6] [8] [9] [7]
How they were bought
Never by competitive bid. A state Department of Information Resources contract, the Omnia Partners cooperative, the ESC Region 19 Allied States cooperative, and Flock Safety named as a sole source vendor in 2025 [1] [2] [3] [5] [6] [8] [9] [10]
Who paid
Operation Stonegarden, the federal border grant, on the 2023 and 2024 mobile systems and the 2025 Flock cameras. Fund 900, the county's drug forfeiture account, on the Flock renewal and the five-camera lease. The federal Office of National Drug Control Policy, through the South Texas task force, on the rest [1] [2] [3] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10]
Where they are
Two are named: the toll booth at public beach access 5, Edwin King Atwood Park, and Travis Road, where the county's Public Works department was asked in September 2026 to issue Flock Safety a right of way permit. Four agreements with the state highway department between 2022 and 2023 permit readers in state road right of way and name no location [4] [11] [12] [13]
How long a read is kept
Not stated anywhere in 488 county meeting notices
Who can search the data
Not stated. The 2020 task force purchase says the readers were bought to increase coverage "statewide and nationally" in collaboration with other task force regions, which implies sharing the county record never describes [1]
A county policy
None appears in any notice we read, for either the Sheriff's Office or the Park Rangers

How it happened

  1. Procurement

    A $392,396 purchase for a task force, posted on consent

    The Court's notice carries, as consent item B, the purchase of license plate readers in support of the South Texas High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area, in collaboration with other task force regions to increase coverage statewide and nationally, for $392,396.00, quoted under state contract TX DIR-TSO-3788. The item names no vendor. [1]

  2. Procurement

    Readers for a sheriff 350 miles away

    Consent item N is the purchase of license plate readers for the Williamson County Sheriff's Office, north of Austin, in support of the same task force, for $28,810.00 on the same state contract. Cameron County is the purchasing body for the task force, so its Commissioners' Court is where another county's equipment is bought. [2]

  3. Procurement

    Flock Safety and the Sheriff's Office

    Item N of the August 2021 notice is a contract with Flock Safety to provide license plate readers for the Cameron County Sheriff's Office. The item states no number and no price. [10]

  4. Procurement

    The Park Rangers get plate readers

    Three mobile license plate reader systems and accessories for $113,813.40, from ThunderCat Technology through the Omnia Partners cooperative, paid for with Operation Stonegarden 2022 border grant money, attributed to the county's Park Rangers. [5]

  5. Deployment

    A renewal, paid out of forfeiture money

    The Court is asked to release a check to Flock Safety for $12,500.00 without a purchase order, from Fund 900, as the annual renewal fee related to the license plate readers. A renewal is the clearest evidence in the county's record that the readers are running. [7]

  6. Procurement

    Five cameras, leased for five years

    A lease of five quick deploy license plate reader cameras for five years, $128,300.00, from American Surveillance through the ESC Region 19 Allied States cooperative, on Fund 900 drug forfeiture money. [8]

  7. Deployment

    Two fixed readers at a public beach

    Item II authorizes the Park Ranger Division to relocate and install two fixed license plate reader camera systems and related accessories at the Edwin King Atwood Park public beach access 5 toll booth, for drug interdiction and investigations. [4]

  8. Expansion

    Ten more Flock readers on border grant money

    Ten Flock Safety plate readers and five Flock Safety video cameras from sole source vendor Flock Safety, using Operation Stonegarden FY22 funds, brought by the Sheriff. [9]

  9. Deployment

    A camera in the county's own right of way

    Item JJ asks Cameron County Public Works to issue Flock Safety a right of way permit for the installation of a Flock camera on Travis Road right of way. It is the only item in the record in which the county permits a camera on a county road, and one of two that names a location. [13]

Cameron County has plate readers in at least three places at once, and the county pays for almost none of them.

The Sheriff’s Office contracted with Flock Safety in August 2021, paid a $12,500 annual renewal out of drug forfeiture money in July 2023, and added ten more Flock readers and five Flock video cameras in February 2025 on Operation Stonegarden, the federal border grant. The Park Ranger Division, a parks department, bought six mobile readers in 2023 and 2024 on the same border grant. And the county buys readers for the South Texas High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area, a federal task force it acts as purchasing body for, which is how a $392,396 purchase intended to increase coverage “statewide and nationally” and a set of readers for the Williamson County Sheriff’s Office, 350 miles north, both appear in this county’s papers.

The pair at the beach

In December 2024 the Court’s notice carried an item authorizing the Park Ranger Division to relocate and install two fixed plate reader camera systems at the toll booth on public beach access 5 at Edwin King Atwood Park. The county gave the purpose as drug interdiction and investigations.

A toll booth on a beach access is a single point every visitor drives through. There is one road in. The county’s record does not say how long those reads are kept, who can search them, or whether anyone is told the cameras are there.

None of it went out to bid

Every purchase above names its route, and the route is always one that skips a bid notice: a state Department of Information Resources contract for the task force readers, the Omnia Partners cooperative for the mobile systems, the ESC Region 19 cooperative for the leased cameras, and Flock Safety named as a sole source vendor. Cooperative purchasing is lawful in Texas and it is how most counties buy. It also means the moment at which a public bid notice would have described this equipment never came.

What is missing

Across 488 posted meeting notices from 2015 to 2026, Cameron County has never posted a plate reader policy, a retention period, a camera count or a location list. The Sheriff’s Office and the Park Rangers both operate readers and neither has a published rule for them in the county record.

One more thing is missing, and it changes how to read everything above. Cameron County does not publish minutes. The County Clerk page its own agenda page links for them returns an error, and the county’s video archive carries agendas and video but no minutes. Each item on this page is what the Court posted it would consider, on the date given. Whether it passed, and whether anyone objected, is in minutes that are approved in the room and not put online.

On the map

The community has mapped 109 devices of this type in the county on OpenStreetMap. These are community reports: the vendor and operator of each point are unverified, and none is confirmed to belong to this system. See them on the map →

Street names from reverse geocoding — © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

What we do not know

What you can do

Show up

Systems like this one are approved by boards, councils and committees that meet in public. We have confirmed where each of them meets in Cameron County and how public comment works there.

How to show up in Cameron County →

Protect yourself

Practical steps to shrink your personal data trail. Our guides publish at launch; until then, EFF's Surveillance Self-Defense is the best starting point.

Surveillance Self-Defense →

Sources

  1. 1.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 21 April 2020, consent item B, license plate readers in support of South HIDTA, $392,396.00 · Meeting record · · accessed
  2. 2.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 19 January 2021, consent item N, license plate readers for the Williamson County Sheriff's Office, $28,810.00 · Meeting record · · accessed
  3. 3.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 7 December 2021, license plate readers for the Lower Rio Grande Valley South Texas region in support of HIDTA, $128,514.50 · Meeting record · · accessed
  4. 4.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 17 December 2024, item II, two fixed plate reader camera systems at the Edwin King Atwood Park beach access 5 toll booth · Meeting record · · accessed
  5. 5.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 25 April 2023, item HH, three mobile plate reader systems, $113,813.40, on Operation Stone Garden 2022 · Meeting record · · accessed
  6. 6.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 26 September 2023, item JJ, one mobile plate reader system, $42,439.97, on Operation Stone Garden '22 funds · Meeting record · · accessed
  7. 7.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 5 July 2023, item JJ, $12,500.00 to Flock Safety from Fund 900 as the annual plate reader renewal · Meeting record · · accessed
  8. 8.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 19 December 2023, item KKK, five quick deploy plate reader cameras leased for five years, $128,300.00, on Fund 900 drug forfeiture money · Meeting record · · accessed
  9. 9.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 25 February 2025, item YY, ten Flock Safety plate readers and five Flock Safety video cameras on OPSG FY22 funds · Meeting record · · accessed
  10. 10.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 31 August 2021, item N, contract with Flock Safety to provide license plate readers for the Sheriff's Office · Meeting record · · accessed
  11. 11.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 29 August 2023, item P, Multiple Use Agreement with the Texas Department of Transportation for the placement of automated plate readers, contract 2023-C08022 · Meeting record · · accessed
  12. 12.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 8 April 2025, item GGG, the Sheriff's Office to enter a Multiple Use Agreement with Flock Safety · Meeting record · · accessed
  13. 13.
    Cameron County Commissioners' Court, notice of the regular meeting of 22 September 2026, page 6, item JJ, right of way permit to Flock Safety for a Flock camera on Travis Road right of way · Meeting record · · accessed

Get the digest

A regular digest of what changed in the world of surveillance: the counties we published, the devices that appeared on the map, and the public meetings where these decisions get made. We send it when there is enough to report.

Subscribe to the newsletter

One click to unsubscribe. What we do with your address is on the newsletter page.