Skip to content
ORWELL INDEX
Active Updated

Harris County Sheriff | Plate recognition software and the LEARN database

Every year since 2021, Harris County has approved a sole source exemption from competitive bidding to buy subscription access to Vigilant Solutions plate recognition software, and a smaller line connecting county plate cameras to Vigilant's LEARN database.

At a glance

Current subscription
$158,120, for 8 August 2026 to 7 August 2027, approved 11 June 2026 [15]
Every year since
2021, when the first item in the county record we read was already a renewal at $140,600. The figure has run $140,600, $146,200, $152,040, $158,120 [1] [3] [5] [10]
How it is bought
A sole source exemption from the competitive bid requirements, every time, each item carrying the justification "Exempt - Sole Source" [1] [3] [5] [10] [13] [15]
The database connection
A separate line, $15,210, for "software license, support, maintenance, and warranty for license plate camera connection to LEARN Database" for the Sheriff's Office, first seen 29 August 2023 and renewed 19 September 2024 [7] [12]
Approved as presented
All nine items. None appears on the County Clerk's results list for its meeting [2] [6] [16]
What the subscription reaches
not stated. The items say "subscription-based access to license plate recognition software" and name no data source, coverage or query scope [15]
Whether county plate reads go into LEARN
not stated. The item describes a connection from county plate cameras to the database and does not say which way data moves [7]

How it happened

  1. Procurement

    Already a renewal when the record opens

    The Court approves a sole source exemption with Vigilant Solutions, LLC for access, maintenance, support and warranty for the license plate recognition data subscription for the Sheriff's Office, $140,600, through 31 July 2022. The Legistar record begins in 2021, so this is the earliest item available, not necessarily the first. [1] [2]

  2. Decision

    $146,200, and now for the whole county

    The renewal names Harris County rather than the Sheriff's Office, for 1 August 2022 to 31 July 2023. Approved as presented. [3] [4]

  3. Decision

    $152,040, with four renewal options attached

    A sole source exemption and agreement for subscription-based access to license plate recognition software, with four one-year renewal options, which is the structure the later years run on. Approved as presented. [5] [6]

  4. Expansion

    County cameras are connected to the LEARN database

    Three weeks after the subscription renewal, a separate $15,210 agreement for "software license, support, maintenance, and warranty for license plate camera connection to LEARN Database" for the Sheriff's Office. LEARN is Vigilant's plate data platform. Approved as presented. [7] [8]

  5. Decision

    Amended and renewed on the same agenda

    Item 245 adds $6,080 to the expiring subscription for additional services; item 248 renews it at $158,120 for 2024-25. Both approved as presented. [9] [10] [11]

  6. Decision

    A renewal ratified after the fact

    The Court approves a ratification of a sole source exemption renewal option at $158,120 running through 7 August 2026. A ratification is approval given after the thing has already happened; the period it covers had begun the previous August. Approved as presented. [13] [14]

  7. Decision

    Renewed to August 2027

    A sole source exemption and renewal option at $158,120 for 8 August 2026 to 7 August 2027. Approved as presented. [15] [16]

A second plate reader system, with no cameras in it

Harris County’s Flock contract buys cameras. This one does not.

Every year since at least 2021, Commissioners Court has approved a payment to Vigilant Solutions, LLC for what the items call subscription-based access to license plate recognition software. There is no hardware in the line. The county is buying the ability to look something up.

The figures are steady and rising: $140,600 through July 2022, $146,200 for 2022-23, $152,040 for 2023-24, and $158,120 in each of 2024-25, 2025-26 and 2026-27. The most recent renewal, approved on 11 June 2026, runs to 7 August 2027.

The other line

Three weeks after the 2023 subscription renewal, the Court approved a second, much smaller agreement with the same company: $15,210 for

software license, support, maintenance, and warranty for license plate camera connection to LEARN Database

for the Sheriff’s Office. It was renewed in September 2024.

LEARN is Vigilant’s plate data platform. A connection between county plate cameras and that platform is the interesting half of this county’s plate reader story, and it is also the half the record says least about. The item does not say which direction data flows, how long anything is kept, or who else can search it.

Sole source, every year

Each of these items carries the same justification on its face: “Exempt - Sole Source”, an exemption from the competitive bid requirements under Texas county purchasing law.

That is a normal category. It exists because some things genuinely have one supplier, and a proprietary software platform is a common example. What it means in practice is that this purchase has not been competitively bid in any year covered by the readable record, and the reasoning for that sits in a written justification the Purchasing Agent holds rather than in anything published with the agenda.

One year is worth noting separately. In December 2025 the Court approved a ratification of the renewal, for a period that had begun the previous August. Ratification is approval given after the fact. The item was approved as presented, like every other one.

What a reader should take from this

The cameras are the visible part of plate reader surveillance, and they are what a resident can photograph on a pole. This line is the other part: an annual six-figure subscription, bought without competition, that lets the county query plate recognition data, plus a connection wiring county cameras to a company’s database.

None of it produces a camera anyone can point at, and all of it was approved as presented.

What we do not know

What you can do

Show up

Systems like this one are approved by boards, councils and committees that meet in public. We have confirmed where each of them meets in Harris County and how public comment works there.

How to show up in Harris County →

Protect yourself

Practical steps to shrink your personal data trail. Our guides publish at launch; until then, EFF's Surveillance Self-Defense is the best starting point.

Surveillance Self-Defense →

Sources

  1. 1.
    Harris County Commissioners Court agenda, 14 September 2021, item 303 · Meeting record · · accessed
  2. 2.
    Harris County Clerk, Results of the Commissioners Court Meeting of 09-14-21 · Primary document · · accessed
  3. 3.
    Harris County Commissioners Court agenda, 19 July 2022, item 241 · Meeting record · · accessed
  4. 4.
    Harris County Clerk, Results of the Commissioners Court Meeting of 07-19-22 · Primary document · · accessed
  5. 5.
    Harris County Commissioners Court agenda, 8 August 2023, item 295 · Meeting record · · accessed
  6. 6.
    Harris County Clerk, Results of the Commissioners Court Meeting of 08-08-23 · Primary document · · accessed
  7. 7.
    Harris County Commissioners Court agenda, 29 August 2023, item 363 · Meeting record · · accessed
  8. 8.
    Harris County Clerk, Results of the Commissioners Court Meeting of 08-29-23 · Primary document · · accessed
  9. 9.
    Harris County Commissioners Court agenda, 15 July 2024, item 245 · Meeting record · · accessed
  10. 10.
    Harris County Commissioners Court agenda, 15 July 2024, item 248 · Meeting record · · accessed
  11. 11.
    Harris County Clerk, Results of the Commissioners Court Meeting of 07-15-24 · Primary document · · accessed
  12. 12.
    Harris County Commissioners Court agenda, 19 September 2024, item 333 · Meeting record · · accessed
  13. 13.
    Harris County Commissioners Court agenda, 18 December 2025, item 34 · Meeting record · · accessed
  14. 14.
    Harris County Clerk, Results of the Commissioners Court Meeting of 12-18-25 · Primary document · · accessed
  15. 15.
    Harris County Commissioners Court agenda, 11 June 2026, item 229 · Meeting record · · accessed
  16. 16.
    Harris County Clerk, Results of the Commissioners Court Meeting of 06-11-26 · Primary document · · accessed

Get the digest

A regular digest of what changed in the world of surveillance: the counties we published, the devices that appeared on the map, and the public meetings where these decisions get made. We send it when there is enough to report.

Subscribe to the newsletter

One click to unsubscribe. What we do with your address is on the newsletter page.