Skip to content
ORWELL INDEX
Approved Updated

Fort Bend County Sheriff | Axon in-car plate readers

Plate reader licenses for 407 in-car cameras billed to the Sheriff's Office, added in 2025 and 2026 to a ten-year, $24.3 million Axon contract the county bought through a purchasing cooperative rather than by bid.

At a glance

The decisions
24 June 2025, item 30X, approved in a block of Purchasing items moved by Commissioner Grady Prestage, seconded by Commissioner Dexter McCoy, 5-0. 12 February 2026, item 42O, approved in a block moved by Commissioner Andy Meyers, seconded by Commissioner Vincent Morales, 5-0 [4] [6]
How many plate reader licenses
407: 336 in June 2025 and 71 more in February 2026 [5] [7]
The cost of the plate reader lines
$909,730.08 for the 336 licenses over 44 months, and $213,613.44 for the 71 over 48 months [5] [7]
Also bought with them
A real-time location, alerts and livestream license alongside each plate reader license, $240,546.32 in 2025 and $54,323.52 in 2026 [5] [7]
The contract underneath
$22,085,574.99 over ten years from 15 November 2021, raised to $24,334,569.48 in March 2022, for body cameras, Tasers and in-car cameras for 392 vehicles [1] [2] [3]
How it was bought
Through Sourcewell, a purchasing cooperative, rather than a county bid [1] [4] [6]
How many are installed, and in which vehicles
Not stated in any record we could find in the Commissioners Court minutes or their attachments [5] [7]
How long a plate read is kept, and who can search it
Not stated in the addenda or the quotes attached to them [5] [7]

How it happened

  1. Decision

    A ten-year Axon contract

    The Commissioners Court approves an addendum with Axon Enterprise "for public safety video surveillance solutions with related equipment, software and accessories", $22,085,574.99, through November 2031. Commissioner Andy Meyers comments that it is a lot of money, and the Purchasing Agent says it covers everyone but one Constable. The quote is billed to the Sheriff's Office and has no plate reader line. [1] [2]

  2. Expansion

    $2.25 million more

    An amendment adds $2,248,994.48, for a total not to exceed $24,334,569.48. [3]

  3. Decision

    336 plate reader licenses

    The Court approves an addendum "for the purchase of Axon Fleet ALPR licenses and cameras, in an amount not to exceed $1,150,276.40". The quote carries 336 plate reader licenses, one per in-car camera, and 336 real-time location, alerts and livestream licenses, over 44 months. [4] [5]

  4. Expansion

    71 more

    An addendum for "specified vehicle camera fleet system services", not to exceed $980,904, adds 71 in-car camera systems for the Sheriff's Office, with 71 plate reader licenses and 71 livestream licenses. [6] [7]

On 24 June 2025 the Fort Bend County Commissioners Court approved an addendum with Axon Enterprise “for the purchase of Axon Fleet ALPR licenses and cameras, in an amount not to exceed $1,150,276.40”. ALPR stands for automated license plate reader. The Court approved it together with 23 other Purchasing items in a single motion.

The quote attached to the signed addendum is billed to the Fort Bend County Sheriff’s Office. It has two kinds of line. The first is “AXON FLEET 3 - ALPR LICENSE - 1 CAMERA”, quantity 336, at $909,730.08 over 44 months. Axon Fleet 3 is the company’s in-car camera system. A license turns one of those cameras into a plate reader, which photographs the plates of the vehicles it passes and checks them against lists of plates of interest. The second line is a license for “REAL-TIME LOCATION, ALERTS, & LIVESTREAM”, also 336 of them.

On 12 February 2026 the Court approved another Axon addendum, titled for “specified vehicle camera fleet system services” and not to exceed $980,904. The title does not mention plate readers. The attached quote adds 71 in-car camera systems for the Sheriff’s Office, 71 plate reader licenses and 71 livestream licenses.

That makes 407 plate reader licenses for patrol cameras in eight months.

The contract they were added to

Both addenda build on an Axon relationship the Court set up in November 2021. It approved an addendum “for public safety video surveillance solutions with related equipment, software and accessories”, $22,085,574.99 over ten years. In March 2022 an amendment raised the ceiling to $24,334,569.48.

The 214-page signed addendum carries Axon’s quote, billed to the Sheriff’s Office. It prices body cameras for 632 officers, Taser 7 bundles, and in-car Fleet 3 camera systems for 392 vehicles, with a renewal of those 392 due to start in November 2026. It also prices Axon’s records management software and a license Axon calls “CITIZEN FOR COMMUNITIES USER LICENSE” for 457 users. The 2021 quote has no plate reader line.

The minutes record Commissioner Andy Meyers commenting that “$22 million is a lot of money and assumes it covers everyone”. He listed the Sheriff, three Constable offices, the District Attorney, the County Attorney and the Fire Marshal. The county’s Purchasing Agent answered that it covered everyone except one Constable.

How it was bought

Every one of these purchases names a Sourcewell contract. Sourcewell is a purchasing cooperative whose contracts member governments can buy from without running a bid of their own. We found no county bid for any of the Axon purchases on this page in the Court’s minutes.

What the record does not say

The addenda and quotes are purchasing documents. They say what was licensed and what it costs. They do not say how many licenses are switched on, which vehicles carry them, how long a plate read is kept, who can search the reads, or whether they are shared with other agencies. We could not find any of that in the Commissioners Court minutes from January 2019 to September 2026 or in the attachments to these items.

Volunteers have mapped 729 plate readers in Fort Bend County at fixed locations. A plate reader mounted on a patrol car moves with the car, so the 407 licenses on this page are not on that map.

On the map

The community has mapped 729 devices of this type in the county on OpenStreetMap. These are community reports: the vendor and operator of each point are unverified, and none is confirmed to belong to this system. See them on the map →

Street names from reverse geocoding — © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).

What we do not know

What you can do

Show up

Systems like this one are approved by boards, councils and committees that meet in public. We have confirmed where each of them meets in Fort Bend County and how public comment works there.

How to show up in Fort Bend County →

Protect yourself

Practical steps to shrink your personal data trail. Our guides publish at launch; until then, EFF's Surveillance Self-Defense is the best starting point.

Surveillance Self-Defense →

Sources

  1. 1.
    Fort Bend County Commissioners Court, minutes, 23 November 2021, item 35J · Meeting record · · accessed
  2. 2.
    Addendum to Axon Enterprise Inc.'s Agreement for Public Safety Video Surveillance Solutions, signed, with Axon quote Q-344851-44484.822AM (214 pages), attached to item 35J · Primary document · · accessed
  3. 3.
    Fort Bend County Commissioners Court, minutes, 22 March 2022, item 34B · Meeting record · · accessed
  4. 4.
    Fort Bend County Commissioners Court, minutes, 24 June 2025, item 30X · Meeting record · · accessed
  5. 5.
    Addendum to Axon Enterprise Inc.'s Agreement, signed, with Axon quote Q-687489-45791DT for Axon Fleet 3 plate reader licenses, attached to item 30X · Primary document · · accessed
  6. 6.
    Fort Bend County Commissioners Court, minutes, 12 February 2026, item 42O · Meeting record · · accessed
  7. 7.
    Addendum to Axon Enterprise Inc.'s Agreement, signed, with Axon quote Q-778413-46048MS (64 pages), attached to item 42O · Primary document · · accessed

Get the digest

A regular digest of what changed in the world of surveillance: the counties we published, the devices that appeared on the map, and the public meetings where these decisions get made. We send it when there is enough to report.

Subscribe to the newsletter

One click to unsubscribe. What we do with your address is on the newsletter page.