Williamson County Sheriff | The Sheriff's plate readers
Volunteers have mapped 285 plate readers in Williamson County. The Commissioners Court's record accounts for seven devices in total, and the Sheriff's plate reader program was taken into executive session under the statutory exception for deliberation regarding security devices.
At a glance
- First in the county record
- 6 November 2018: two LPR WANCO speed trailers, $116,890, from Millenium Products Inc. on a federal supply schedule, for the Sheriff's Office. Carried on the regular agenda [1]
- Devices the county record accounts for
- Seven: two plate reader speed trailers in 2018 and five Vigilant plate reader cameras in 2022. The minutes do not say how many reader units a trailer carries [1] [4]
- Cameras under the Flock agreement
- Not stated. The May 2022 agreement names no number, no price and no term beyond "yearlong" [5]
- Deliberated in closed session
- 8 March 2022: "Discussions regarding an Automatic License Plate Reader Program for the Williamson County Sheriff's Office", taken into executive session as deliberation regarding security devices. No action was taken there [3]
- How long reads are kept
- Not stated in any Commissioners Court minutes we read, 9 April 2013 to 15 September 2026 [7]
- Who can search the reads
- Not addressed in the county record [7]
- A usage policy
- None has been presented to the Commissioners Court in the minutes we read [7]
- Mapped by volunteers
- 285 plate readers of the 308 surveillance devices contributors have mapped in Williamson County. The county's own purchases cannot account for them; most belong to city police departments, and 20 carry the operator name of a single retirement community [8]
How it happened
- Procurement
Two plate reader trailers, on a federal supply schedule
The Court approved the use of a General Services Administration contract to buy two LPR WANCO speed trailers for $116,890 from Millenium Products Inc. for the Sheriff's Office. The Sheriff's Office Chief Deputy addressed the Court. The item was on the regular agenda, not the consent block. [1]
- Procurement
A second trailer purchase, pulled
A $12,070 quote from Vetted Security Solutions for plate reader trailer cameras and a CCTV trailer upgrade, listed inside the consent block on the same federal schedule. The minutes record that the item was pulled from the agenda, and no outcome. [2]
- Debate
The program goes into executive session
The Court listed an item headed "Discussions regarding an Automatic License Plate Reader Program for the Williamson County Sheriff's Office" and took it into executive session under the Texas Government Code provisions for deliberation regarding security devices. The minutes record that no action was taken there. [3]
- Procurement
Five cameras, on consent
Two weeks later the Court bought five License Plate Recognition Cameras and annual maintenance from Vigilant Solutions for $6,975.60, on a regional council purchasing contract, as item 30 inside a consent block running from item 3 to item 46. [4]
- Decision
The Flock agreement is pulled off consent and debated
A license and services agreement with Flock Group for a yearlong study on the efficacy of plate reader technology was listed as consent item 14 and moved to the regular agenda. Three members of the public addressed the Court, with the Sheriff, the Court's General Counsel and a Sheriff's Lieutenant. It carried, four ayes, the County Judge absent. [5]
- Procurement
A contract acknowledgment that names nothing
Contract Terms Acknowledgment #2023257 with Vigilant Solutions, on the same federal schedule, carried as consent item 21. The item states no equipment and no price. The documents filed with it are a contract term agreement, a redacted quote and a manufacturer's master customer agreement. [6]
There are 285 plate readers standing in Williamson County on the volunteer map. The county government’s own record accounts for seven devices: two plate reader trailers and five cameras.
What the county bought
In November 2018 the Sheriff’s Office bought two plate reader speed trailers for $116,890, on a federal supply schedule rather than through a local bid. In March 2022 it bought five Vigilant plate reader cameras for $6,975.60, through a regional council purchasing contract, as one item inside a consent block of forty-four. In May 2022 it signed an agreement with Flock Group for a yearlong study of plate reader technology, which names no number of cameras, no price and no term beyond the word “yearlong”. In August 2023 a contract acknowledgment with Vigilant carried on consent, naming no equipment at all, with a redacted quote filed beneath it.
In September 2020, between the trailers and the cameras, a $12,070 quote for more trailer cameras was listed on consent and pulled from the agenda. The minutes record no reason and no later vote.
The part that was not in public
On 8 March 2022 the Court listed an item reading “Discussions regarding an Automatic License Plate Reader Program for the Williamson County Sheriff’s Office” and took it into executive session under the Texas Government Code’s provisions for deliberation regarding security devices. The minutes record that no action was taken there. Fourteen days later the five cameras passed on consent.
That exception is one the Court uses often: it appears in 238 of the 913 sets of minutes we read, usually for courthouse and Justice Center security. What is particular to this item is the subject named inside it.
The one time the public got a say
On 3 May 2022 the Flock agreement was listed as consent item 14, which would have passed it in a single motion with twenty-six other items. It was moved to the regular agenda instead. Three residents addressed the Court, along with the Sheriff, the Court’s General Counsel and a Sheriff’s Lieutenant, and the agreement then carried.
That is the only occasion in thirteen years of this county’s minutes on which a member of the public is recorded speaking before a plate reader vote.
What the record does not say
No Williamson County record we read states how many readers the Sheriff’s Office operates, where they are, how long a read is kept, which agencies can search them, or whether searches are logged. The Court has never been shown a usage policy for them. The words “license plate reader”, “plate reader”, “ALPR”, “LPR” and “license plate recognition” appear in six meetings across thirteen years, and all six are above.
What stands in the county
The readers on the map were mostly not bought by the county. The EFF Atlas attributes plate readers in Williamson County to the police departments of Round Rock, Cedar Park, Georgetown, Taylor, Hutto and Liberty Hill. Twenty of the mapped devices carry the operator name of a single retirement community, three a municipal utility district, and seventeen two national hardware chains. None of those councils or districts has been researched for this project and this page makes no claim about what any of them approved. The community map shows where contributors have put them.
What a resident can ask for
The gap between 285 readers on the ground and seven in the county’s record is why the first request on this county’s list asks the Sheriff’s Office for the reader inventory, the retention period, the sharing list and any query audit, and the second asks for the one number the county has never published: how many Flock cameras the May 2022 agreement put up.
What we do not know
- How many plate readers the Sheriff's Office operates, of what kinds, and where they stand.
- What the yearlong Flock study concluded, and what happened when it ended.
- How long reads are kept, who may search them, and whether queries are audited.
- What equipment the 2023 Vigilant contract acknowledgment covers.
- What was discussed in the executive session of 8 March 2022.
What you can do
Show up
Systems like this one are approved by boards, councils and committees that meet in public. We have confirmed where each of them meets in Williamson County and how public comment works there.
How to show up in Williamson County →Protect yourself
Practical steps to shrink your personal data trail. Our guides publish at launch; until then, EFF's Surveillance Self-Defense is the best starting point.
Surveillance Self-Defense →Sources
- 1. Williamson County Commissioners Court, minutes, 6 November 2018, item 36 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 2. Williamson County Commissioners Court, minutes, 1 September 2020, item 36 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 3. Williamson County Commissioners Court, minutes, 8 March 2022, item 55 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 4. Williamson County Commissioners Court, minutes, 22 March 2022, item 30 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 5. Williamson County Commissioners Court, minutes, 3 May 2022, item 14 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 6. Williamson County Commissioners Court, minutes, 15 August 2023, item 21 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 7.
- 8. OpenStreetMap contributors, surveillance devices mapped in Williamson County · Dataset · accessed
Get the digest
A regular digest of what changed in the world of surveillance: the counties we published, the devices that appeared on the map, and the public meetings where these decisions get made. We send it when there is enough to report.
One click to unsubscribe. What we do with your address is on the newsletter page.