Blaine County Sheriff | License plate readers
The Sheriff's Office describes searching a Flock Safety network in its own press releases. Across 788 published agendas, packets and minutes of the Board of County Commissioners from January 2022 to September 2026, the system is never named.
At a glance
- How many cameras
- Not stated in any county record we read. A Hailey police staff report of September 2025 counted eight across Sun Valley, Bellevue and the County together, and Sun Valley and Bellevue account for seven of those by other agencies' counts [4] [5]
- Price
- No contract, order form, invoice, grant acceptance or budget line naming the vendor appears in the Board of County Commissioners' published record from January 2022 to September 2026 [6]
- Who approved it
- Not found. The Sheriff is separately elected and the Board holds the county budget, but nothing in the Board's record for that window names the system [6]
- How long the data is kept
- Not stated in any county record we read [6]
- Who else can see it
- Not stated. In June 2026 the Board approved a law enforcement mutual assistance compact with sixteen other Idaho sheriff's offices; the minutes of that item do not mention plate readers, and the Sheriff's press release two days later gives "Flock monitoring" as one of the situations the compact is for [1] [2]
- A written policy
- We could not find one published by the Sheriff’s Office [6]
- Audits
- Idaho Code 49-1432 has required semiannual audits of plate reader access logs since 1 July 2025. We found no audit published by this office [7]
- Where a camera is
- Highway 75 at the Elkhorn traffic light, at least [3]
How it happened
- Deployment
A transportation department tells the Board it is expanding installations
In a project update to the Board of County Commissioners, an Idaho Transportation Department representative "confirmed collaboration with law enforcement to expand license plate reader installations and will provide regular project updates to The Board". This is the only sentence about plate readers in 788 of the Board's published documents from January 2022 to September 2026. [6]
- Context
Camera installations are delayed
The Board's chair will convene a follow up with the transportation department on unresolved transportation issues "including delayed camera installations and project timelines". The minutes name no agency, vendor or location. [8]
- Context
A neighboring department counts the valley's cameras
A Hailey police staff report, written to support that city's own purchase, states that Flock Safety "is currently utilized by the cities of sun valley and Bellevue and by the Blaine county Sheriff's Office" and that there are eight cameras between the two cities and the County. [4]
- Decision
A mutual assistance compact with sixteen sheriffs
The Board approves a Law Enforcement Mutual Assistance Compact with the sheriff's offices of Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Bonneville, Butte, Caribou, Clark, Custer, Franklin, Fremont, Jefferson, Lemhi, Madison, Oneida, Power and Teton counties, at $160 prorated for fiscal 2026 and $400 a year afterwards. Unanimous. The Sheriff described it to the Board as allowing participating offices to request and provide resources during major incidents, and the Board asked for periodic updates on how often it is used and what it costs. The minutes of the item do not mention plate readers. [1]
- Context
The press release names Flock monitoring
The Sheriff's press release on the compact quotes him: "It allows rural counties to provide better coverage in emergencies or big events where we might need additional assistance. This could include wildfires, the World Cup, or situations that we should not ethically investigate, such as an officer-involved shooting or Flock monitoring." [2]
- Debate
A town hall on the cameras
The county's own notice advertises a community conversation with the Sheriff at Hailey Town Center West, listing four topics: how Flock license plate readers are used, the office's relationship with federal immigration enforcement, why the office no longer allows comments on its social media, and the status of the Ketchum police transition. [9]
- Deployment
A plate search in an assault investigation
The Sheriff's press release describes an aggravated assault in Ketchum. "The vehicle plate number was searched in the FLOCK Safety camera system for a specific time the Outback passed through the HWY 75 and Elkhorn traffic light." Deputies then located a vehicle matching the description, with its plate removed, north of Hailey, and made an arrest. The Sheriff is quoted saying the readers were "instrumental in putting our deputies in position to locate the suspect". [3]
- Deployment
A plate search, and a homeowner's camera, in a wildfire investigation
In the Martin Fire investigation the Sheriff's press release states that deputies "utilized cameras connected to the FLOCK Safety camera system and a homeowner's private camera footage to identify the vehicle's license plate, company owner, and registration". The fire burned about 1,065 acres. The release says the driver contacted the office to take responsibility the same evening. [5]
The Blaine County Sheriff’s Office runs plate readers. We know because it says so.
In July 2026 it published two press releases describing the system at work. In one, a plate number was “searched in the FLOCK Safety camera system for a specific time the Outback passed through the HWY 75 and Elkhorn traffic light”, in an aggravated assault investigation that ended in an arrest.[3] In the other, deputies “utilized cameras connected to the FLOCK Safety camera system and a homeowner’s private camera footage to identify the vehicle’s license plate, company owner, and registration” during the Martin Fire investigation.[5]
A neighboring police department counted the cameras for its own council in September 2025: Flock Safety “is currently utilized by the cities of sun valley and Bellevue and by the Blaine county Sheriff’s Office”, eight cameras between the three of them.[4]
What the county record says
The Board of County Commissioners is the body that adopts the county budget, approves its contracts, accepts its grants and hears its department reports every week. We fetched 788 of its published agendas, packets and minutes covering 4 January 2022 to 16 September 2026. Every one has a text layer, and 787 of the 788 return the county’s own name on a search, so the corpus is readable and complete for that window.
Across all 788 documents the words Flock, ALPR, automated license plate and surveillance do not appear.[6]
“License plate” appears four times. Three are a specialty plate grant program that paid for a boat ramp at Alturas Lake. The fourth is in the minutes of 15 July 2025, in a project update from an Idaho Transportation Department representative, who “confirmed collaboration with law enforcement to expand license plate reader installations and will provide regular project updates to The Board”.[6]
Two months later the Board’s chair arranged a follow up with the same department on unresolved issues, “including delayed camera installations and project timelines”. No agency, vendor or location is named.[8]
That is the whole of it. The county’s own camera decisions in that period are a jail camera server, a courthouse door lock system, and a drone for wildfire mapping.
What follows from that
A sheriff in Idaho is separately elected and runs the office. A board of county commissioners adopts the budget. Both things are true, and neither of them is an accusation.
What the record shows is that a durable, county wide system for recording where vehicles go is in service, and that a resident reading every agenda, packet and minute the Board published from January 2022 to September 2026 would not have found an item about it to read or to speak against. We have not read the Board’s record before January 2022, so we make no claim about what is in it.
The two cities that bought the same technology did it the other way. Bellevue passed a resolution with the price in it and put the department’s written policy in the packet first. Hailey passed a resolution with the price in it and its council argued about the data license on the record before voting. Both are small agencies with small budgets. Neither found the paperwork impossible.
The compact
On 16 June 2026 the Board approved a Law Enforcement Mutual Assistance Compact with sixteen other Idaho sheriff’s offices, for $160 in its first part year and $400 a year afterwards. The Sheriff presented it as a way for participating offices to request and provide resources during major incidents, and the Board asked for periodic reports on how often it was used and what it cost. The minutes of the item do not mention plate readers.[1]
Two days later the Sheriff’s press release on the compact gave examples of what it is for: “wildfires, the World Cup, or situations that we should not ethically investigate, such as an officer-involved shooting or Flock monitoring.”[2]
We have not seen the compact document. It is not in the packet the Board published with that agenda, and what plate reader access it carries, if any, is one of the things a records request would answer.
On the map
The community has mapped 28 devices of this type in the county on OpenStreetMap. These are community reports: the vendor and operator of each point are unverified, and none is confirmed to belong to this system. See them on the map →
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
- Location road not yet identified license plate reader ↗
Street names from reverse geocoding — © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL).
What we do not know
- How many cameras does the Sheriff's Office operate, and where are they? One location is named in a press release. No county record we read gives a count.
- What does the system cost and who approved it? No contract, invoice, grant acceptance or budget line naming the vendor appears in the Board of County Commissioners' published record from January 2022 to September 2026.
- Does the office have a written plate reader policy? We could not find one published.
- What do the semiannual audits Idaho Code 49-1432 requires say? We found none published by this office.
- Does the mutual assistance compact carry plate reader access? The Board's minutes of the item do not mention plate readers; the Sheriff's press release two days later does. The compact document is not in the packet we read.
- What did the Idaho Transportation Department install, with which agency, and under what agreement?
What you can do
Show up
Systems like this one are approved by boards, councils and committees that meet in public. We have confirmed where each of them meets in Blaine County and how public comment works there.
How to show up in Blaine County →Protect yourself
Practical steps to shrink your personal data trail. Our guides publish at launch; until then, EFF's Surveillance Self-Defense is the best starting point.
Surveillance Self-Defense →Sources
- 1. Blaine County Board of County Commissioners minutes, 16 June 2026 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 2. Blaine County Sheriff's Office press release: Mutual Assistance Compact · Primary document · · accessed
- 3. Blaine County Sheriff's Office press release: FLOCK Assists Aggravated Assault Arrest · Primary document · · accessed
- 4. City of Hailey City Council packet, 22 September 2025, carrying the police staff report · Primary document · · accessed
- 5. Blaine County Sheriff's Office press release: Rumor Control Fireworks, Wildfires, and FLOCK · Primary document · · accessed
- 6. Blaine County Board of County Commissioners minutes, 15 July 2025 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 7.
- 8. Blaine County Board of County Commissioners minutes, 9 September 2025 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 9. Blaine County notice: Community Conversation with Sheriff Ballis · Primary document · · accessed
Get the digest
A regular digest of what changed in the world of surveillance: the counties we published, the devices that appeared on the map, and the public meetings where these decisions get made. We send it when there is enough to report.
One click to unsubscribe. What we do with your address is on the newsletter page.