Montgomery County IT | The Axon camera contracts
Montgomery County has approved more than $23m of Axon purchases since 2021, for video surveillance and for body and in-car cameras across multiple law enforcement departments. The largest single contract was approved in one motion with four firewall purchases.
At a glance
- Largest contract
- 17 December 2024, body cameras and in-car video for multiple county law enforcement departments, five annual payments totaling $19,684,557.45 [4]
- Video surveillance
- 16 November 2021, "Public Safety Video Surveillance" for $2,101,520.00 over sixty months, through the Sourcewell cooperative contract #010720-AXN, on the consent agenda [3]
- And again in 2025
- 24 June 2025, an intent to piggyback on a cooperative Axon procurement for $1,728,482.73 "or as negotiated" for various departments [5]
- How they were bought
- Through cooperative purchasing contracts, BuyBoard #743-24 and Sourcewell #010720-AXN, under Chapter 271 of the Local Government Code. A county buying this way does not seek bids [3] [4]
- How many cameras, and for which agencies
- Not stated. The December 2024 item says "multiple Montgomery County Law Enforcement departments" and names none of them [4]
- Whether the contracts include plate reader licenses
- Not stated in the minutes. In two other Texas counties an Axon contract titled for body cameras carried in-car plate reader licenses in its priced quote, which is an attachment rather than part of the item [4]
How it happened
- Context
Taser becomes Axon
The Court approves the name change of Taser International Inc. to Axon Enterprise, Inc. for various departments, on the consent agenda. The county had been buying from the company as a weapons supplier. [1]
- Procurement
Tasers, sole sourced
The Court grants a sole source exemption for "Tasers and taser accessories" from Axon Enterprise, Inc. for various departments, on the consent agenda. [2]
- Procurement
$2.1m of video surveillance, on the consent agenda
The Court approves the utilization of a Sourcewell cooperative contract for "Public Safety Video Surveillance" from Axon, $2,101,520.00 over a sixty month term, for Information Technology. It is a lettered sub-item inside the consent block. [3]
- Procurement
$19,684,557.45 of cameras, in one motion with four firewalls
The Court approves five purchases on a single motion. The first is body cameras and in-car video equipment from Axon for multiple county law enforcement departments through BuyBoard contract #743-24, five annual payments totaling $19,684,557.45. The other four are network security subscriptions. [4]
- Expansion
Another $1.7m, or as negotiated
The Court approves an intent to piggyback off cooperative procurement for Axon in the amount of $1,728,482.73 "or as negotiated" for various departments. [5]
- Expansion
The District Attorney gets a bundle
On the consent agenda, the Court approves the contract for Axon's Justice Premier Plus Bundle for the District Attorney's Office, through the same BuyBoard contract. [6]
Axon sells Tasers, body cameras, in-car cameras, the cloud service that stores what they record, and increasingly the software that searches it. Montgomery County has been a customer since the company was called Taser International, and since 2021 the Commissioners Court has approved more than $23m of purchases from it.
The purchases
On 16 November 2021 the Court approved, inside its consent block, the utilization of “Public Safety Video Surveillance through Sourcewell contract #010720-AXN in the amount of $2,101,520.00 for a sixty (60) month term from Axon Enterprise, Inc. for Information Technology”.[3] That is the whole item. It is lettered sub-item (a) of a two-part request, immediately after a change order for a roofing system.
On 17 December 2024 the Court approved five purchases on one motion. The first was body cameras and in-car video equipment from Axon “for multiple Montgomery County Law Enforcement departments through BuyBoard Contract #743-24”, with five annual payments of roughly $3.9m each, “for a grand total amount of $19,684,557.45 for Information Technology”.[4] The other four purchases in the motion were network security subscriptions. Roughly $330,000 of the camera contract came from federal pandemic relief money; the rest is county funded, subject to future court approval.
Six months later, on 24 June 2025, the Court approved an “Intent to Piggyback Off Cooperative Procurement for AXON Enterprises, Inc. in the amount of $1,728,482.73 or as negotiated for various departments”.[5] In July it approved the contract for Axon’s “Justice Premier Plus Bundle to be utilized by the District Attorney’s Office”, on the consent agenda.[6]
Buying without a bid, legally
None of these went out to tender, and none had to. Each cites Chapter 271 of the Texas Local Government Code, which lets a local government buy through a cooperative purchasing arrangement that somebody else has already competitively bid. BuyBoard is run by the Texas Association of School Boards; Sourcewell is a Minnesota agency that holds national contracts. Buying this way satisfies the state’s competitive bidding requirement.
The practical effect is that a purchase never passes through the moment where a bid notice would have described the equipment in public. There is no specification, no scope of work and no vendor comparison in the county’s minutes. There is an amount and a contract number.
What the item does not tell you
“Body cameras and in-car video equipment” is a description of a category, not of a purchase. It does not say how many cameras, for which of the county’s law enforcement agencies, or what software rides along with them. That detail is in the priced quote, which is an attachment to the item, scanned and published on the county’s own website.
It is worth asking for. In Dallas County an Axon order titled for Tasers, body cameras and in-car camera systems turned out, in its priced quote, to include in-car license plate reader licenses and camera-stream licenses; the figures are on that county’s record. In Fort Bend County a pair of addenda titled for vehicle camera fleet services added hundreds of plate reader licenses to the Sheriff’s patrol cars; that one is here. Whether Montgomery County’s contract does anything of the kind is not knowable from its minutes, and this page does not assume it does.
What we do not know
- How many cameras the December 2024 contract buys, and which county agencies get them.
- Whether any of the Axon contracts include in-car plate reader licenses.
- What the "Public Safety Video Surveillance" bought in 2021 consists of, and where those cameras are.
- How long footage is kept, who can watch it and under what policy.
- What the $1,728,482.73 piggyback of June 2025 covers, and what "or as negotiated" ended up meaning.
What you can do
Show up
Systems like this one are approved by boards, councils and committees that meet in public. We have confirmed where each of them meets in Montgomery County and how public comment works there.
How to show up in Montgomery County →Protect yourself
Practical steps to shrink your personal data trail. Our guides publish at launch; until then, EFF's Surveillance Self-Defense is the best starting point.
Surveillance Self-Defense →Sources
- 1. Montgomery County Commissioners Court, minutes, 13 June 2017, consent item C10 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 2. Montgomery County Commissioners Court, minutes, 20 March 2018, consent item C · Meeting record · · accessed
- 3. Montgomery County Commissioners Court, minutes, 16 November 2021, consent item E2a · Meeting record · · accessed
- 4. Montgomery County Commissioners Court, minutes, 17 December 2024, Purchasing purchases · Meeting record · · accessed
- 5. Montgomery County Commissioners Court, minutes, 24 June 2025, motion 14 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 6. Montgomery County Commissioners Court, minutes, 15 July 2025, consent item E2 · Meeting record · · accessed
Get the digest
A regular digest of what changed in the world of surveillance: the counties we published, the devices that appeared on the map, and the public meetings where these decisions get made. We send it when there is enough to report.
One click to unsubscribe. What we do with your address is on the newsletter page.