Webb County Sheriff | License plate readers
Webb County has been buying plate readers since 2014 and has never paid for one out of its general fund. Every reader came from a border grant, an auto theft grant or money seized in forfeiture, and no use or retention policy for any of them appears in the county's record.
At a glance
- First in the record
- 24 November 2014, three plate reader camera systems from L3 Mobile Vision [1]
- Most recent purchase
- 12 January 2026, three reader systems from Motorola Solutions for up to $63,753, approved inside the consent agenda [8]
- Largest purchase
- Two Jenoptik Vector plate reader trailers in March 2024, approved at $249,800 and re-approved two weeks later at $279,800 after what the Court called a typo [6] [7]
- Paid for by
- Operation Stonegarden in 2015, 2018 and 2019; the Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority in 2022; Operation Lone Star in 2024; federal forfeiture funds in 2026 [2] [3] [4] [6] [7] [8]
- Paid for by the county
- Nothing. Every item states the purchase has no impact on the general fund, and the matches were met from the Sheriff's forfeiture funds [4] [8]
- How many are in service
- Not stated in any county record [9]
- Where they are
- Not stated. Two of them are trailers that the Court was told could be redeployed to where they were needed [6] [7]
- How long reads are kept
- No retention period or schedule appears in the 848 documents read for this county [9]
- Who else can search them
- Not stated in any county record [9]
How it happened
- Procurement
Three reader systems from L3 Mobile Vision
The Court approves the purchase of three plate reader camera systems with cable, monitor consoles and computers from L3 Mobile Vision, alongside mobile data service. It is the first plate reader in the record the county publishes. [1]
- Expansion
More readers on a 2013 border grant
The Court authorizes additional plate reader equipment and installation on a state Department of Information Resources contract, $52,780, using FY2013 Operation Stonegarden supplemental funding from the Federal Emergency Management Agency. [2]
- Decision
A reader inside a $119,520 border grant
The Court accepts a FY2015 Operation Stonegarden supplemental award of $119,520 for border security equipment. $49,520 of it is a single plate reader for the Sheriff's Office; the rest is overtime for the four constables. The item notes the grant needs no match and so has no impact on the general fund. [3]
- Procurement
The 2017 grant becomes a Jenoptik trailer
Having accepted $51,386.96 of FY2017 Operation Stonegarden funding for a reader with a leased server in October, the Court spends it on one Jenoptik Light and Safety Vector plate reader trailer with TraffiData software and a camera, at exactly that figure, on a sole source exemption. [4]
- Decision
An auto theft grant, matched from forfeiture funds
The Court accepts a $20,000 Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority auxiliary grant for a plate reader, with the mandatory match and the extra equipment cost, $5,000 in all, met from the Sheriff's Office forfeiture funds for a $25,000 total. The application had been ratified two weeks earlier. [10] [5]
- Procurement
Two reader trailers, sole sourced, at $249,800
The Court authorizes two Jenoptik Vector plate reader rapid deployment trailers, each with a twenty foot mast and a Bosch pan-tilt-zoom camera, batteries, installation, software license and cloud services, at up to $249,800 from Operation Lone Star money, on the patents exemption. [6]
- Decision
Rescinded and re-approved, $30,000 higher
Two weeks later the Court rescinds that action "due to a typo on dollar amount" and approves the same two trailers at a corrected $279,800. [7]
- Procurement
Three Motorola readers, on consent, from forfeiture money
The Court authorizes three plate reader systems from Motorola Solutions on a state cooperative contract, up to $63,753, charged to the Sheriff's federal forfeiture account. It passed inside the consent block, 5-0. The item says the purchase will enhance border security operations and has no impact on the general fund. [8]
- Decision
A $150,000 application for more
The Court approves a FY2027 Project Safe Neighborhoods application to the Governor's office for up to $150,000 of plate reader camera equipment, this time justified by violent crime and firearms offenses rather than the border. No cash match. [11]
- Decision
And another, for auto theft
The Court approves a FY2027 Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority taskforce application for up to $20,000 of plate reader equipment, with a $4,000 match again coming from forfeiture funds. [12]
A license plate reader is a camera that photographs every plate that passes it, converts the plate to text, and stores the read with a time and a place. It does not care who you are or whether anyone suspects you of anything; it records everyone, and the record persists.
Webb County has been buying them for twelve years. In that time the Commissioners Court has never once paid for one out of the county’s general fund.
The money always comes from somewhere else
The first three arrived in November 2014, camera systems from L3 Mobile Vision bought alongside mobile data service.[1] After that the pattern is fixed. In July 2015 the Court spent $52,780 of a FY2013 Operation Stonegarden supplement on more reader equipment.[2] In January 2018 it accepted a $119,520 Stonegarden award of which $49,520 bought “border security equipment in the form of a license plate reader”; the rest was constable overtime.[3] In October 2019 it accepted $51,386.96 of FY2017 Stonegarden money for a reader with a leased server, and in November spent exactly that sum on a Jenoptik Vector reader trailer, sole sourced.[4]
In 2022 the source changed but the principle did not. The Sheriff’s Office applied to the Texas Motor Vehicle Crime Prevention Authority for $20,000 for a reader, and met the required match, plus $1,000 for the actual cost of the equipment, from its own forfeiture funds.[5][10] Twenty-five thousand dollars of plate readers, none of it from the county.
By January 2026 the Court was buying three reader systems from Motorola Solutions for up to $63,753 out of the Sheriff’s federal forfeiture account, on a state cooperative contract that needs no bid. It passed inside the consent block, five votes to nothing.[8]
Every one of those items carries the same reassurance in some form: no impact on the general fund.
What the phrase does
It is true, and it is the reason none of this was ever argued about. A county budget is the one document residents get to fight over. A purchase that never touches it never becomes a line anyone has to defend, and the question that would otherwise get asked, whether this county wants readers at all and on what terms, is never the question in front of the Court. The question in front of the Court is whether to accept money.
That is not a trick anybody played. It is how grant-funded policing works, in every county on this site. It is worth saying out loud because the effect is real: the cheaper a surveillance system is to the people who live under it, the less they get asked.
The trailers
The largest purchase came in March 2024: two Jenoptik Vector plate reader rapid deployment trailers, each with a twenty foot mast and a Bosch pan-tilt-zoom camera, batteries, installation, software license and cloud services, at up to $249,800 on Operation Lone Star money.[6] Two weeks later the Court rescinded that action “due to a typo on dollar amount” and approved the same two trailers at $279,800.[7]
A trailer is the version of this technology that does not stay put. The item says as much: the Court was told the original equipment “can be redeployed along with the new equipment to the areas needed”. Where they are now is not in the record.
Still growing
In January 2026 the Court applied to the Governor’s office for up to $150,000 more, under a violent crime and firearms program rather than a border one.[11] In April it applied to the auto theft authority for another $20,000, with the match once again from forfeiture funds.[12]
What nobody has written down
In 848 agendas and minutes covering thirteen years, the county’s record contains no plate reader use policy, no retention period and no retention schedule. It does not say how many readers are running, where they are, how long a read is kept, or who outside the Sheriff’s Office can search them.[9]
Those are answerable questions, and a resident can ask them. The page on how to ask for a record explains how, and the Commissioners Court explains how to get an item pulled off the consent agenda so that it has to be discussed out loud.
What we do not know
- How many readers the Sheriff's Office operates, and where the fixed ones and the two trailers are.
- How long a plate read is kept, and under what schedule.
- Whether the office shares its reads with the state plate reader database or with any other agency.
- Whether a written use policy exists, and who approved it.
- What the two 2026 grant applications were awarded, and what they bought.
What you can do
Show up
Systems like this one are approved by boards, councils and committees that meet in public. We have confirmed where each of them meets in Webb County and how public comment works there.
How to show up in Webb County →Protect yourself
Practical steps to shrink your personal data trail. Our guides publish at launch; until then, EFF's Surveillance Self-Defense is the best starting point.
Surveillance Self-Defense →Sources
- 1. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 24 November 2014, item AI-2083 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 2. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 27 July 2015, item AI-3025 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 3. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 8 January 2018 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 4. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 25 November 2019 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 5. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 13 June 2022, item AI-13436 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 6. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 11 March 2024, item AI-15948 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 7. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 25 March 2024, item AI-16010 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 8. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 12 January 2026, item 18a (AI-18604) · Meeting record · · accessed
- 9.
- 10. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 27 June 2022, item AI-13561 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 11. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 26 January 2026, item AI-18678 · Meeting record · · accessed
- 12. Webb County Commissioners Court, minutes, 27 April 2026, item AI-18996 · Meeting record · · accessed
Get the digest
A regular digest of what changed in the world of surveillance: the counties we published, the devices that appeared on the map, and the public meetings where these decisions get made. We send it when there is enough to report.
One click to unsubscribe. What we do with your address is on the newsletter page.